Frieze Art Fair London

In a city with numerous of free museums and art exhibitions going on every week,  why should one pay £23 to see the Frieze London 2013? It is recognised that the finest galleries will be there,  exclusively for viewers.

So I love art, I appericiate as an amateur. I go to the HK Art Fair every year (usually with a complimentary ticket from some friends).  But as I’m a student now,  I can’t really afford the luxury of a ticket. Luckily,  they provide ‘free’  Art for people like me,  over a dozen of sculptures of where the fair is,  the Regent’s Park.

I like how one is free to imagine and interpret an art piece. The artist may have some rationale or philosophy in creating the piece,  but it’s upon the viewer’s autonomy and freedom in judging,  commenting,  exploring the work.

image

This is a spiral that will lead me to another world . It is joint by 3 standalone pieces and I was tempted to dance between the cracks of them to go over to the other side. I wouldn’t touch it so hopefully no yelling from the guard.

image

I called it the ‘mushroom’. It’s like colorful mushroom and fungi you see in cartoon. How nice if this were real? (my friend got yelled at when she was trying to touch a ladybird on the fungi.  Even bugs thought it’s real!)

image

The best part about this work, is not about the installations, it’s the dog that went through it that made it live. So you put up sign saying ‘do not touch’ on sculptures in a park? Human would care but not the dog and squirrels who belong to the nature. This dog almost stopped and did his business at the ‘art’,  exploring the ‘power relationship’ of art piece and viewer,  haha.

image

A very interesting one that grasped your attentions right away. You see 3-4 of yourself in the mirror. It also creates a Alice in the Wonderland feeling! Or an alternative world.
What if there are alternative worlds? How would I be like there?

image

It said, ‘The landscape is moving’. Another piece that makes use of mirror. Usually popular with viewers.

image

VIP sign on a reflective toilet door. Mocking those who think they are so important or superior. A distorted image of oneself also reminded how one looks like when he/she thinks have an overly grown ego.

image

They are flowers and they look like a bunch of white doves from a distance. But they have these phallic things. Masculine and feminine at the same time.

image

A beautiful woman. She looks like an ethnic minority to me somehow.

image

One can guess this is the most popular piece. What a Facebook profile pic material! I had a few pics taken there (not for Facebook use!). I like what I friend said,
‘It looks like damaged. ‘
And I said,
‘May be it is,  but it’s still love.’

I like it, love is not perfect, it may be damaged. Relationships may have flaws. But this is still love.

What an enjoyable imagination journey.

